Club 15

I had my weigh in yesterday, and it’s the first time in a fair few weeks that I’ve had two losses in a row. I lost 2.5 lbs which I’m super-duper happy with, and I only have 1 lb to go to get my 5.5 stone award. I’ve been so close to the 15-stone-something mark for weeks and weeks now, but every time I got within half a pound I sabotaged myself. I finally broke that particular pattern and am (for now at least) part of the 15 Club! I don’t intend to stay here long, I’ve heard that Club 14 has a lot more benefits so I’m hoping to join as soon as possible.

It’s been a bit of a weird day today. I was a lot sleepier than I usually am after a night shift so I had to upset Pea and have a little bit of extra sleep. She was NOT happy about it, but if I don’t look after myself then I can’t look after her, and sometimes a girl’s just gotta get her head down. I feel a lot better now but although I know I want to write a blog post, the words are really not coming easily today. I should probably leave it and come back to it another time, but I have too many things to do before work and also I am being bloody stubborn!

I have these things to do which is annoying because I want to be outside. The weather is glorious again, and looking back on my memories of last summer it’s so fleeting I don’t want to waste it. I was out in the garden yesterday, just assessing what work needs to be done, only to find that some greedy little buggers are eating our apple tree. We are going to have a bumper year for apples this year, the tree is abundant with them, but they’re also not very good quality which is due to the hungry, hungry little buggers. I feel for them, I really do, but steps need to be taken to save next year’s crop. It’s too late for this year unfortunately, I just hope some of the apples make it through OK. It was a good photo op anyway!

I think these caterpillars most likely belong to a moth species, but I’m having trouble finding out which one. Maybe I’ll find out as they continue to grow (and decimate the poor tree…) Phase one in the garden is definitely going to be a wet area for frogs so as long as my wages are OK come pay day I’ll get some pond liner and dig out a little space for them. We have a little area near the compost bin that should be perfect – it’s already home to loads of creepy crawlies but I’ll only be moving them a couple of feet to make a space so I should imagine they’ll be happy enough. I really hope it attracts some frogs because I haven’t seen a wild frog in years and that’s such a shame! Then if I have enough money left I want to get to the garden centre and get as many colourful yet easy-to-keep-alive flowers as I can. I believe they call them hardy in the business! I want to get all the flowers my grandparents had in their garden when I was a kid. My granddad used to take me out and let me pick marigolds, pansies, giant daisies and snap dragons. It was awesome and also the only fond memory I have of my grandparents who were not all that nice. But they did have a lovely, colourful garden! My nan on the other side of the family had strawberries and runner beans but she didn’t garden much because she was too busy going out and being a total old lady badass. She was great, I miss her a lot.

So far the weather forecast is looking good for Sunday, and since it’s my mum’s birthday next week my sister is coming over and we are doing a surprise BBQ. My mum has a whole range of health problems and I’m trying to help her lose weight but unfortunately her underactive thyroid is really not helping, so I want to help her stay on plan as much as possible. Therefore although my last attempt at a healthy BBQ failed miserably, I am trying again and this time I will succeed! My sister has been out on the town a few weekends in a row so she also wants to be sensible, so with most of the family on board I should be OK! I’m not sure what kind of crap my brother will be eating, but knowing him it’ll be meat-based so at least I won’t be tempted there.

Well that’s enough rambling now I think, it’s time to get Pea’s dinner and have my first cup of coffee of the day. That’s probably why I feel weird, I haven’t been medicated yet!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley X

Edit: The last paragraph originally read ‘crap my first cup of coffee of the day’. You ever have that where you’re thinking one word but type a completely different one? No? Just me? Probably…

 

 

5 thoughts on “Club 15

  1. Congrats on the continued losses! I can wholeheartedly recommend the SW beefburgers if you have an Iceland nearby!

    Alternatively from a veggie perspective (if she is as well) it’s a perfect opportunity for some tofu and veg skewers!

    I can see the yogurt and mint dip already 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!

      Damn, I wish I’d thought to get some smoked tofu, it’s one of my absolute faves, but then it’s a mare to get hold of anyway. I’ll definitely do that for the next BBQ though, great idea!

      I’m doing some home made burgers for my mum because although she isn’t a veggie, she’s annoyingly fussy. Basically she doesn’t like anything that tastes of anything…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

