I GOT THIS

Oh June, I am SO ready for you. I just checked my most recent food diary, which I started on 11th April. Since then I’ve managed to keep off 1.5 lbs. Which is cool. Better than gaining it, right? But I can do better. I WILL do better. If you read my last post you can see that I wasn’t too sure about my short-term plans. WELL NOT ANY MORE!

I do struggle with the summer months, because I love the warm weather and sunshine. A lot of people find it harder to slim in the winter what with all the warming comfort food, but for me summer is more of a challenge – it immediately brings to mind ice cream and barbecues. Both fit in perfectly with Slimming World if you want them to, but I’ve been finding it really hard to maintain control. We had a barbecue a week or two ago and I had plenty of syn free stuff that I genuinely enjoy, but instead I ended up eating two packs of halloumi! I had corn-on-the-cobs in the fridge, which are one of my favourite barbecue foods of all time AND they are syn free. Yet I didn’t have any!

Until last year I really struggled with going to the cinema or even watching TV and films at home, because I seemed completely incapable of watching anything without having a snack to hand. But I managed to completely and utterly break that habit without really giving it too much thought. Now if I go to the cinema I take a healthy snack like fruit or an individual pack of popcorn, but 9 times out of 10 it stays in my bag, completely forgotten about.

If I can do that, I can make summer about syn-free iced Americanos and walks in the park. I’m already halfway there, I just need practice. If only it was summer all the time!

Until yesterday I’d been off work for two weeks, partly because of a strike and partly because I had holiday booked (hence the trip to Snowdon), and I only managed to stay on plan for the first few days. Whilst walking to the picket line instead of having my usual iced Americano I had a large, full fat, iced caramel latté. I didn’t even enjoy it that much, but I still got the same again on the way home. On the plus side I walked there and back, which was just lovely! I didn’t have any sun cream on and I got completely burnt to a crisp, but we won’t talk about that…

It got worse from then on, but the day after I got back from holiday I was food optimising 100% and managed to prevent one of my epic gains. This week I ‘only’ put on 4.5 lbs, and I’m absurdly happy with that. My goal for June is to be 100% on plan for the whole month, and to have a loss every single week. I am taking into account that our bodies don’t always play ball so if I have an unexpected gain or maintain that could be attributed to hormones, water retention, exercise etc then I’m not going to count that as a fail. As long as I stick to the plan I’ll get what I’m owed.

In typical fashion a few hours before work last night I started to feel a bit unwell, nothing I can really put a finger on as such, just generally not quite right. Then I noticed I have a hurty lump on the side of my neck which according to Mr Google is probably a swollen lymph node and my body is most likely fighting off an infection. Of course, me being me, I’m going to do nothing and see if it goes away on its own, even though it is pretty painful. According to the internets that’s pretty normal though. We’ll see how it goes!

Little Pea the parrotlet added to my worries by acting strangely just as I had to leave for work. She was flapping about in her cage when she’s usually fast asleep, and I was so worried about her I popped home during my lunchbreak at 2:30am to check she was OK! She was fine, I think she just likes to keep me on my toes. Silly bird. She had two whole weeks to mess with me, but no, she waits until I’m lacing up my work shoes…

As for today it’s been a good ‘un.

I had a nice little delivery of an enamel pin to mark my Snowdon trip. It’s from Auntie Mims’ Etsy shop, and isn’t it cute?

After obtaining a lime this morning (Tesco sent me a lemon by accident. I’m not sure how you can confuse the two personally but there you go) I made three salsas. The recipes are here, and also make sure you check out the rest of the blog because it’s marvellous. I’m going to eat some of them tomorrow because I needed time for the flavours to develop, but I did have a little taste and I’m very impressed so far.

How beautifully summery do they look? I would go into detail about what they are but you can find that out by following the link. As it is I am running desperately late and shouldn’t even be writing this blog. Shut up Hayley!

Thank you for reading, but now I really must be off.

Bye for now!