Loneliness

Whilst doing a tiny bit of research for this blog post I typed in ‘Social media and…’ into Google, which kindly autocompleted the sentence. It came up with ‘Social media and loneliness’, which is actually what I was intending to search for. I read a few articles (research really ain’t my thing!) and it seems studies conducted pertain to young adults, but the research apparently shows that the more time a young adult spends on social media, the more lonely, isolated and envious they can become. Which sounds pretty bleak. When I was in my last year of secondary school I vaguely remember getting into musical debates on the NME message board with my friends, but that was always difficult anyway because of dial-up (it sends a shiver down my spine when I remember the bad old days), but other than that I didn’t interact with anyone online as a young adult with anyone other than a couple of friends. So maybe my experiences are different because I’m from a different generation (man I feel old!) but I think social media kind of rocks.

It just depends how you use it!

My mum always worries about me because I’m not going to have children. She thinks that when I’m old I’m going to be lonely and have no one to look after me. The second part may be true, but as for loneliness, well, I can guarantee it ain’t gonna happen! In the last few months I’ve felt increasingly frustrated by a lack of a connection with most people I know in real life. I adore my brother and sister, and we are very close, but as awesome as they are we still need a variety of people in our lives. So if you’re feeling like I did, just reach out to people, because there are SO MANY fabulous humans out there!

I joined a Facebook group of like-minded Slimming World members, and it’s part of the group rules to ‘not be a dick’. That’s right up my street! I’ve been a member for perhaps a month, and already we’re trying to arrange a meet-up (hopefully) for the end of July. The great thing is that I stressed and stressed about going out with my colleagues, some of whom I’ve known for nearly ten years, but when I think about going out with a bunch of people I’ve never met, hundreds of miles away from home, I feel excited. I already feel accepted, and that’s a wonderful thing.

I started my YouTube channel four weeks ago and already I’ve connected with a wonderful lady, and we have spoken about meeting. As it happens she should be going to this meet-up too, which is very handy! My point is, if you need people, they are there. It is scary, putting yourself out there, but it’s worth it. Trust me!

On Friday I went to see Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. I’d heard mixed reviews, and two people I know said they fell asleep, so I went in with an open mind. I went with my brother and a friend, and my friend did in fact fall asleep! However I think he must have been exhausted though because I absolutely loved it! I was engrossed from start to finish, so much so that I didn’t even touch the (Slimming World-friendly) cinema snacks I’d bought with me. I thought it was the perfect combination of action, humour and sentiment. Yes, I did do a little cry too! Over the last couple of days I’ve been randomly chuckling to myself when I remember a particularly funny scene. It’s nice when a film stays with you for a while.

Even though I had work afterwards, I decided to dress up nicely for the cinema. I have decided that I no longer want to save anything ‘for best’. If it’s nice, I’m going to wear it now! I don’t need a special occasion. I got my friend to take a picture of me as I need to keep my sister regularly updated with what outfits I’m wearing, so I thought I’d use this as an opportunity for a comparison pic which I always find fun!

Please excuse the exciting kitchen backdrop, we do not have a single neutral background in our house! I bought this dress a couple of months ago but never wore it until now because I didn’t have anywhere to go. So silly! It’s lucky I got it out when I did because it’s becoming too big! Conveniently the belt will mean I’ll get a bit more use out of it before it starts a new life at the charity shop. So yes, looking at those pictures side-by-side, I’m feeling incredibly happy and positive. ]

Very soon I have to get going as I have quite a bit to get done today, but before I toddle off I thought I’d show you my most recent Tesco find- Perfectly Imperfect cucumber which is just 35p a pack! I love weird-shaped veg, doesn’t it just make everything more interesting? I’m so glad it’s making a comeback. Who doesn’t want a small, thin, bendy cucumber I ask you?!

On that note I’m off!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Loneliness

  1. Hey. Reading blogs like yours are just one of the reasons that I’ve decided to start blogging about my weight loss as well. I’m be grateful if you could take a look at my blog and provide some feedback (it’s new so there’s only the one post about me so far). TS 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

