The Shark

To begin with, don’t worry gentlemen. This post isn’t going to into too much detail on womanly issues! You may have heard us ladies refer to Star Week from time to time and can probably guess what we’re referring to, but more recently (and accurately I feel) I’ve heard it called Shark Week. This I can relate to. It is five days before my own Shark Week is due and I am in a foul, foul mood. 

I went to get weighed earlier on and the official verdict is 3lbs on from the last time I was weighed in group. That’s pretty good really. If I had gone to get weighed last week I’d be showing a 9lb loss right now, but what a hollow victory that would be. In my head I am focusing on the positives and I’m exceptionally pleased that I managed to keep my 4.5 st award, but as soon as someone tries to make me feel better I want to bite their heads off. So for my sake and theirs I decided not to stay at group tonight.

Also caused by hormones, the dreaded tiredness is back with a vengeance so I’m starting on the strong coffee. Although my muscle strengthening exercises have fallen by the wayside since I decided to eat my own bodyweight in chips and ice cream, I’m still desperately trying to do my 10,000 steps a day. I am currently waaaay off today but I intend to get there by the time I get to work. As I don’t have enough time left to have a sleep, do dinner, and get ready for work (it’ll take me way too long to fall asleep) then I might as well get my steps in during time that would otherwise be spent fruitlessly counting sheep!

Despite being (as I’ve been called many times before) a mardy-arsed cow, I am absolutely determined to have a good week this week. I’ve been to Lidl to do a little top-up shop and picked up some cavolo nero which I’ve never had before. I think it must be from the cabbage family and since I love my leafy greens I’m guessing I’m going to be a fan. I also think it’s a really pretty vegetable, but maybe that’s just me! I also feel bad for thinking my old English teacher was a bit potty for loving parsnips so much. She used to paint them and write poetry about them. I kinda think I get it now…

Since I’ve already done my hair for work although it needs a trim I thought I’d put on the red lipstick and take a photo. It doesn’t really capture the vibrancy of it but I’ve decided I do like it after all, and next monday when I go out with my sister I’m going to wear it outside! Before then I’m going to learn how to apply it properly too, but hey, baby steps! The brand I’ve bought is completely vegan and seems to have OK staying power, but I’ve got to be honest the smell of the stuff is absolutely revolting! Thankfully the smell dissipates pretty quickly, but at first it’s like mouldy bananas mixed with petrol. Yuk!

So yeah, all in all I’m feeling tired but good, despite being somewhat snappy shall we say! My immediate goal for this week is ABSOLUTELY, 100%, NO WEIGHING AT HOME. You heard it here first, folks!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

