When to Stop

I’m a bit angry today, so be warned this post may be more than a little sweary.

Now I’ve lost 4 st 8 lbs I’m over the halfway mark and ‘only’ have 4 st left to lose. But despite still having a significant amount of weight left to get shot of the nay-sayers have already started piping up. When I’ve lost weight before they have been the bane of my life. All the ‘don’t go too far’, ‘you need to stop now’, ‘you’ll look ill’ comments are such a bore! It’s weird- at my highest weight if someone had said to me ‘Hayley, you’re getting too fat’ I would have lost my sh*t, but when it’s the other end of the scale I try to reason with them.

At first I thought maybe people were genuinely concerned for my health, but I really don’t think it’s the case. I don’t know what the motivation for these comments is, but since I clearly still have a lot of changes to make when it comes to my body I can’t understand why someone should feel compelled to tell me what I should weigh. In future if this subject comes up I’m going to channel one of my heroes, Archer, and tell them to eat a buffet of ‘male genitals’. Ahem. Seriously, go and watch Archer right now. It’s worth it for insult inspiration alone. But please DO NOT watch the YouTube vid below if you don’t like swearing or general extreme rudeness!

In all seriousness though it’s no longer something I’m willing to entertain unless someone really is concerned for my health. I’m not going to explain that I will only just be within a healthy BMI, and that I’ll be at the very top end of the scale at 24.9. As a woman I’m ‘supposed’ to be nearer the bottom end of the scale. I’m not going to tell them that I’ll probably be a size 16, which is still considered ‘plus size’, because it’s no one’s business but my own. Even Slimming World don’t have a say in your target weight (unless you want to be dangerously underweight in which case you can’t be a member), so why should anyone else?

So the answer to the question ‘when to stop?’ Simply put, whenever YOU want to.

I think I’m extra tetchy today because someone at work was really horrible to me last night, even when I calmly and politely told him that he was upsetting me and asked him to stop. He kept on though, so I broke out a very rude word that I only use on very special occasions, and shortly after I got an apology. It wasn’t the things he was saying as such, it was more that some people think it’s acceptable to try and make other people unhappy, for reasons that I really can’t fathom. He’s done this before, so if he doesn’t behave himself in the future then he’ll simply become one of those people I don’t mix with in work. To be honest I think that’s where it’s heading, because he’s just a really nasty, bitter, negative person. It’s not just ‘banter’ as he claims, it goes beyond that. Which must be true as it really takes a lot to properly offend me. As I’ve lost weight my self-esteem has grown and I no longer feel that I just have to put up with things like that. Until now I’ve stayed friendly to spare his feelings. Well I won’t be doing that in future.

Today I shall be mostly catching up with household things. I want to get it all out of the way today so that tomorrow is left clear, for what I haven’t decided yet. Except this evening I’m watching a film with my mum and brother, which will hopefully have the combined effect of getting them to talk to each other again after a silly argument yesterday. It’s a funny old life…

Thanks for reading and apologies for the potty mouth,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “When to Stop

  1. Haters gonna hate, and lets face it nothing drags some people down more than the sight of someone making positive change and doing good things with their life.

    (rude word) em. They’re all (rude word) anyway who probably (rude word) with zoo animals and (obscenity) in remote lay-bys with (further rude words and terrible insinuations).

    Glad I got THAT off my chest.

    Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

