Energy

I seem to be stuck in a weird energy cycle at the moment. For a couple of weeks I barely need any sleep, I’m super productive and I get a ton of stuff done. Then for the next couple of weeks I want to sleep all the time and can barely be bothered to cook dinner. For someone who loves to eat as much as me this is a big deal! During these times it’s a case of just slogging away and carrying on regardless, but there are times when I just can’t help but be lazy.

At the moment I feel like some area of my life always has to be out of control in some way. There is very little in my life right now that’s more important to me than staying on track with my weight loss. In order to be successful it’s right up there at the top of my list of priorities, second only to my gorgeous parrot. Deep down since I’m so tired at the moment I want to forego exercise, but I really want my Gold Body Magic award, I really want to improve my body shape, and get fitter, and aid my weight loss. So even when I should relax or go to bed I’m soldiering on. The downside of this is that when I get to work, like last night, I’m ready to drop. Then the manager says ‘there’s not much work, who would like to go home?’ and although I really shouldn’t, although I know money is going to be so tight come payday, I just can’t help myself.

Last night instead of earning money I slept for nearly 10 glorious hours. I should be getting stuff done now, but I’m procrastinating because what I really want to do is go back to bed. That can’t be right! On the other hand I remember how much I struggled with my energy levels the last time I was successful with Slimming World. It was definitely a factor when it came to me regaining all the weight- not because I genuinely needed extra food for energy, but because I just started letting things slide. For instance I’d tell myself that I ‘need’ a sugary energy drink to get through my shift. Or that I’m justified in ordering a takeaway because I need extra sleep.

That’s all nonsense though. The way to cope with this lies in planning. Today I’m going to get off my arse, go to the shops and get me some microwave jacket potatoes. These help me in two ways- when I do Slimming World chips it’s hard to me to control my portions, but with a jacket potato I just have the one potato rather than three or four. Also if I pre-cook some veggie sausages and whatnot plus get some salad bits, maybe boil a few eggs, then for the rest of the work week I can have a dinner ready in 10 minutes. For lunches I will knock up a batch of Slimming World ‘Heinz’ tomato soup. Preparation is key, and there is no excuse for failure!

With these strategies in place I can make sure I get extra sleep in the evening to prepare myself for my shifts. So no more going home without pay for me.

Despite these little struggles in some ways I’ve been having a fantastic week so far. I popped to my dad’s while he’s on holiday to have a soak in his tub which was nice, but to be honest I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would. It was very nice to note how there’s a lot more space in the bath then there used to be, but I got bored pretty quickly so I posted back his keys ahead of time rather than going for a soak every day like I’d originally planned.

Tuesday was weigh day, and I lost a fantastic 4.5 lbs, got my 4.5 stone award and got Slimmer of the Week!

I’m now in the 16 stone bracket which I haven’t been in since early 2014, and I only have 11 lbs to go before the 15 st bracket. I can almost taste it! It’s my plan to be 15 st 13 lbs or under before my work night out on the 1st of May. This is one of the reasons I’m so focused right now- there’s no opportunity for a slip up when I want to achieve my goals this badly. The main focus point is my next award though. 6 lbs to go, that’s all I really need to think about.

Right then, I’d better be off and get some of things done that have to be done today. Then I’ll have an afternoon nap!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

