Intensity

I’ve been sat at my desk drinking coffee, watching my parrot play with her toys and reading Slimming World blogs. At work last night I was having a little think and decided that rather than aiming for a certain amount of steps a day I would rather forsake the steps for some higher intensity exercise. When I first started walking because I was so unfit my heart rate would go straight up into the fat burning zone, but that simply doesn’t happen now unless I’m going up a hill.

At the weekend I bought my crosstrainer in from the garage. I bought it in July 2014 but it’s only in the last month or so I’ve gone under the maximum weight limit! I still used it when I first got it but found I couldn’t do more than a couple of minutes before my heart was ready to burst out of my chest and my knees were about to crumble.

Rather than seeing what I can do now, I’ve been sitting here thinking that I’d like to do 30 minutes in one go to make it a proper work out, but that I probably won’t be able to. Well I’m never going to find out unless I try! So I need to get off my butt and give it a go.

A LOT later…

In the spirit of honesty, I will tell you that I forgot about this blog post and it’s now the next day. BUT I did do 30 minutes on the cross trainer! It was hard to begin with, and the first time I looked at my watch I was sure I’d done about 20 minutes. Nope, I’d done 6. But once I’d broken the 15 minute barrier I felt a lot better. I suppose that was some endorphins kicking in. I did stop 3 times but only for a couple of seconds. I had to adjust my feet as they were slipping off the foot plates. I spent 80% of my workout with my heart rate in the cardio zone which I’ve never done in all the time I’ve had my Fitbit, and I got it in August 2015. It’s taken me a while to fully utilise that particular gadget.

Today I’ve been up for all of an hour and the day is glorious. I’ve had my window open all day for the first time since last year, the fresh air is lovely, the sun is shining… To top it off I went downstairs and I was greeted with a ‘wow’ from my mum. I was suspicious because normally this is like ‘wow, how did you get your hair to do that while you were sleeping’ but it was actually a ‘wow, it’s really showing how much weight you’ve lost, especially from your tummy’. So I was pretty damn chuffed with that.

I also had a delivery that I’ve been quite excited about despite only learning about this product’s existence a few days ago. I really hate having my upper arms on show for several reasons, not just the fact that I have bingo wings, so when Gempiccaddilly put me on to Wingz I just had to get some. I’ve got a lot to thank this lady for! They are a product that lets you add sleeves to anything. It’s something that I have been wishing for since I was at school and now someone’s only gone and made it! Of course I ordered some as soon as I heard about them and they are great. I really love light summer dresses and normally wear a shrug with them. The problem with this is that they’re usually knitted, plus if I have a dress with capped sleeves or a bow on the back then the dress bunches up underneath it and it just doesn’t look right. No more of that! Since the weather’s getting better I ordered some 3/4 length ones, which is my favourite length of sleeve to have anyway. I’ll definitely be getting more though because they have loads of different designs including lace ones which will be great for going out.

The plan for today is to do some workouts that I found about via the company I buy my jeans from, Long Tall Sally. They have created four 20 minute workouts designed for tall women to help with posture, and man do I need help with that! I’ve found that I’m slouching more than ever and if I continue to work on my tummy muscles (I’ve been doing lots of situps and whatnot) then it could get worse unless I do some back exercises to even myself out. So it’s a win-win! I’m going to do two today as I’d rather do a workout that’s over 30 minutes, so we’ll see how that goes.

As usual I’m running out of time so I’d best get on and do it!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

 

8 thoughts on “Intensity

  1. I’m loving the openness and honesty here. Truthfully I think it’s this that will keep weight off and keep your life centred along with your habits healthy.

    Without honesty and self awareness losing weight is just a ‘brute force’ activity that will eventually fail when you lose the will to fight. Loving it and loving yourself is the key – and building your life around a new philosophy, which you’re doing!

    Plus – although I just said it in the last post I commented on – the before and afters look ace 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve just realised I commented on the wrong posts twice (clearly getting confused by your ultra modern swish wordpress theme where you comment at the top not the bottom lol) – please ignore my daftness!

      Like

      • Haha, thank you for your comments no matter which post they are on!

        It does feel wonderful to have more space in the bath. I remember if I was sitting up in a bath I’d create a dam and the water behind me would get trapped. Thankfully that is now a thing of the past!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I sure remember that phenomenon. It was like the scene in ‘The Day After Tomorrow’ in my case. Although instead of new york being wiped out it was the bathroom floor.

        Many rubber ducks died falling out of the bath this way. (sob)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! That scenario sounds very familiar. I also remember laying back and not only flooding the bathroom floor but also my fat creating an (admittedly hilarious) parp sound. I think I can live without that particular talent 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha – I am indeed familiar with the bath parp – but have you ever experienced the public toilet hermetic seal? I sat on a metal rimmed one in Coventry some time ago and managed to somehow push all the water in the bowl upwards.

        It was a cold day, and (ahem) certain things got a little colder in that moment.

        Plumbing for chubbies. It’s a living hell lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

