The Blip

Weigh in was yesterday and it was a good ‘un! I lost a spectacular 4.5 lbs and am just a pound, one measly pound, away from my 4st award. I buy myself an enamel pin after losing every half stone and this cute-as-hell unicorn-with-a-rainbow-hula-hoop arrived from LA this morning to mark my 3.5st loss. I was ridiculously excited at the prospect of choosing my next pin so soon, so why I would choose today to fall of the wagon is (partially) a mystery.

img_3294

I’ll tell you what it was. I had a rubbish sleep last night and then had to take my mum to the eye clinic to get a little cyst checked out. Which is fair enough, but the eye clinic isn’t at our local hospital, and it’s an evil place. The parking is atrocious so since my mum’s mobility is not great I tried to get her as close as possible to where she needed to go. I did well and miraculously found the perfect parking space on the street outside. Then the damn parking meter wouldn’t take my damn money so we had to park quite far away. I envisaged this would happen so although it was annoying we had plenty of time to slowly make our way over to the other side of the hospital. Where we waited an age as the clinic was running an hour behind. Thankfully I’d stocked my handbag with apples and HiFi bars to keep me going.

As you can tell apart from a bit of sleepiness and some minor annoyances, the appointment actually went pretty smoothly and thanks to my planning there was absolutely no need to have two fried cheese sandwiches when I got in. Yet I did anyway.

I have learned a lesson here. When I think I want something ‘bad’, I need to make half of the thing I think I want. Otherwise I end up feeling sick, which is a new one for me. You know when people say ‘I can’t eat all of that, it’s too rich’? I truly never understood what they meant until recently. Also when you’ve spent the last few months only having 30g of cheese a day you forget how salty the stuff is. I think I’ve drunk about three days worth of water since this afternoon!

I have acquired this knowledge about my overeating just in time for my trip to London next week to visit my sister. The plan was to eat ALL THE THINGS, but the new revised plan is to eat ONE SPECTACULAR THING and not spend the rest of the day running backwards and forwards to the loo.

I have work tonight so I’ve been to bed for a cheese coma an afternoon nap. When I woke up I was back to the focused Hayley of yesterday and had a plan fully formed in my mind. The temptation is always there to beat myself up over this blip, but where on earth would that get me? Apart from fatter? When has being mean to someone ever worked out for the best? Why would being mean to yourself be any different? It wouldn’t. Believe me, I know. I tried to analyse the situation so that I can prevent it happening again, and have come to the conclusion that I simply needed a nap. I’m basically a toddler at heart!

The moral of the story? Sleep first, eat later. And stop using silly things as an excuse to eat rubbish.

And the plan? For the rest of the week I’m going to eat tons of speed food and walk my socks off. I upped my speed food intake last week and that’s what I attribute to my good loss, so I’m going to take it to another level this week. As for the walking, plenty of that should be done at work but I’m going to make the extra effort to increase my steps outside of work too, plus me and the little bro are out exploring a new place on Sunday. I’ve ordered a pair of waterproof walking boots too (in preparation for our Snowdon trip in May) and I can’t wait to try them out. Although I’m pretty sure they aren’t going to arrive in time for Sunday.

Either way, I’ll let you know how the adventure goes.

As ever thank you for reading, but moreso thank you for letting me organise my thoughts without complaint!

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

