Hoops!

Ever since I can remember, I have been fat. And I’m talking maybe aged four or something. I remember being in infant school and being self conscious about undressing for PE as at that age we all got changed together in the classroom. So from that moment on I mostly hated and feared exercise, moreso if someone could see me doing it. And especially if I was wearing PE knickers while all of the other girls had their cute skirts. They didn’t make the skirts to fit me.

270117_1214

The picture above is me on one of our regular visits to an aunty’s caravan, back in the 80’s, and demonstrates just how skilled I am at pretty much any kind of physical activity. Also this is me looking rather slim believe it or not! Now I have to admit, I have never, ever been able to hula hoop. A couple of years ago when weighted hula hoops became a thing I meant to try one out, but I never got around to it. People I spoke to swore that they had never been able to do it either but with the weighted hoop it is easy. Well we will soon learn the truth, as I have just ordered one. Is it really that easy? We will find out!

270117_1215

This is me during my first ever sports day, and I remember my parents came around with me so I actually kind of enjoyed it. And I reckon I did a pretty good job of jumping through the hoops if nothing else. But look at what they dressed me in! I would also like to point out that what you see there is an adult-sized leotard, handed down from a relative. They were bad times indeed.

Today (it is finally pay day and I did some overtime so I could get some treats) I also ordered a couple of new tops. They are both cheap jobbies, again from Amazon, as I don’t want to spend a fortune on clothes I intend so slim out of again as soon as possible. But I do need a bit of wardrobe overhaul, because after about another 11 lbs loss I’m going to go back to my old hairdresser from ‘back in the day’. He’s awesome and at the time (around 2004-ish) I followed him to about 3 different salons until he finally opened up his own. Since then though I put on so much weight I was ashamed to go back, and also the haircut I want won’t look good if I have too many chins. Part of me would like to wait until I reach target, but the other part of me says to hell with it. So I think I’ll have it done with money from next pay day (it’ll be expensive-Richard is a damn good stylist and people know it!) but if I’m going to have it done I need clothes that will also go with the hair. Alternative designer-type haircut does not go with frumpy old lady clothes!

This week my sister invited me to a ‘Workweek Hustle’ challenge through Fitbit, basically to see who can do the most steps from Monday to Friday. At the moment we are in a bitter tussle for first place with no sign of either of us relenting! I clocked up 17,000 steps yesterday and didn’t even make much headway so it’s going to be neck and neck. There’s nothing like a bit of sibling rivalry! Getting my Fitbit definitely has helped me become more active. If I didn’t have it I probably would have done about 6000 steps that day, but with all that extra walking I burned about 4000 calories.

Last night at work I was moved from the ‘lady area’ where all the toys and light household things are picked to the ‘man area’ where we pick all of the flat-pack furniture. A lot of people said I should go and speak to the manager as they were sure it was a mistake and I should go back to picking towel sets, toilet brushes and Frozen merchandise, but I decided to stick with it. I actually enjoyed it and it was only at the very end of my shift I had trouble lifting a 25kg box of weights. I can lift that amount fairly easily but I was getting worn out at this point and had to make an involuntary noise to move it the last couple of inches!

As for my work problem I haven’t heard anything back yet, and I’m glad it’s the weekend so the top managers and admin staff won’t be in. That means I can relax a bit and not think about anything until next week. That’s the plan anyway!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Hoops!

  1. Eek! The hoop sounds so fun! I have tried a weighted one, it does work and was weirdly addictive! It’s down to size too, most adults can’t hula with a child sized hoop.
    Hope you enjoy the haircut too when you get to it – I’ve not been to the hairdressers since before little Squiggle was born (he’s 20 months 😳) I miss it, it was nice 😌

    Like

    • The hoop has arrived but so far it’s not coming naturally to me. I’m going to have to google how to do it!

      The last time I went to a hairdresser was in September and I showed her a picture of what I wanted but what I ended up with wasn’t even close.

      I think you should treat yourself! As it happens my sister got her hair cut today at a vegan place in London with a vegan cafe inside it. They should have those everywhere!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

