Feeders

Does anyone know what has happened to the sky this morning? Because I certainly haven’t seen it! It’s taken me a couple of hours to get going today, and I think it’s because all I can see outside is gray, gray and more gray. I reckon the dementors are out in force…

img_2649Last night I went round my dad’s for dinner as planned, and to begin with him and his girlfriend were fairly good about not putting too much temptation in my way. At heart though, they are still the relentless feeders they always were. My brother is quite a fussy eater of late so he requested pizza. I asked for Linda McCartney rosemary and red onion sausages and Actifry chips. What my brother ended up getting was a 20″ pizza, Actifry chips, a salad and an entire garlic baguette. There was easily enough for the four of us in his meal alone! After being asked three times if I was absolutely sure my sausages didn’t need to be covered in oil there was a lengthy debate over which baking tray should be used. Eventually they got the damn things in the oven and I was asked if I wanted beans. So at least they were offering me Free Foods for the time being, but boy it’s hard work with them!

As mentioned in my previous post I’ve been looking forward to trying Actifry chips as everyone I know who has had them raves about them. My honest opinion is don’t even bother! My ordinary oven baked Slimming World chips are far superior and take half the time to cook.

After dinner I was offered cheese and crackers, but it was low fat cheese so that’s OK, right? I had to use all the control I had not to roll my eyes at this. Then I was offered mince pies and cream, at which point I actually shouted ‘for God’s sake will you stop trying to feed me please!’ But in a jokey way, I wasn’t actually mean!

My dad was pretty pleased with himself as he’s lost 9lbs and ‘didn’t drink for four days’ (room for improvement there I think) but I wonder how far his healthy eating will take him as he’s pretty clueless. For instance he explained that he’d got dead sea salt because it’s healthy. And maybe it is, if you WASH WITH IT! But is it going to make you lose weight? That’ll be a no…

The last week was so long and stressful I’m glad it’s over, but I’m filled with dread of what’ll come next. On the plus side I’m going picking for four weeks which means working on another department. I’m glad to be away from my managers for a while and on a department where things are just a lot simpler, and I’ll be a lot more active too. When I was a temp I used to get sent to this department regularly, but as a permanent member of staff I didn’t go so often. The last time I went was in April last year, and over the Christmas period I was dreading the thought of going. This is because you have to wear a pack around your waist that communicates with the servers and tells you where in the warehouse you need to go next. Having to wear it used to make me so uncomfortable and self-conscious but now I’m looking forward to it because I did my measurements last week – since October I have lost over 5 inches from around my waist! I also have tons more energy so being on my feet all night shouldn’t be too much of a problem. Bring it on, I say!

If there are any goings on with upper management, the Union, HR or whatever in the coming week, my plan is to get the details and not think about it until I’m home, feeling calm, and can get my thoughts in order. I don’t want to make any snap decisions or react badly to what they say, as it’ll just make them dig their heels in if I do that. Deciding now how I want to deal with it should help when the time comes. Until then I have one day of my weekend left and group to look forward to tomorrow. I think just maybe I’ve done enough to avoid a gain, but I’ll just have to wait and see! If I do have a gain I’ll be pleased to get it out of the way so I can have a week of being 100%. The not knowing is the worst part, because then you have it hanging over your head the entire week.

I will let you know how I get on!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

