Ungrateful 

It was weigh day yesterday and I’m kinda… not entirely happy about it. I lost 2 lbs which is obviously great. My aim is to lose about 2 lbs a week which will allow me to easily reach target by the end of the year with room for a few cheat days too. So I’m perfectly on track, it’s just that I wanted more this week! I need to get a grip on myself and be happy with what I’ve got. 2 lbs is a thoroughly decent weight loss. What an ungrateful cow!

Speaking of cheat days I’ll be having one next month as me and my sister are going traipsing around London and sampling some vegan wares. I’m not vegan, just vegetarian, but I saw that a shop called Temple of Seitan has opened in Hackney that sells ‘vegan fried chicken’ and after seeing a picture of the food I know I can’t rest until I’ve tried it. My sister was well up for it and while we are out we are also trying vegan hot dogs from a shop in Brick Lane. I don’t intend to go mad but these things are obviously not Slimming World friendly! The plan is to walk everywhere we can rather than get the tube and just enjoy the food, because it’s unlikely I’ll go back. Or if I do it’ll be in six months or something. So I’m not going to keep a food diary that day and will just get straight back on it as soon as I’m on the train home.

Until that day I’m going to be 100% on plan as usual because I’d really love 10 lbs off by then which would give me my 4 st award. It’s a big ask but you never know until you try. This kind of goes against my ‘be happy with 2 lbs off’ philosophy, but at the same time I want to aim high!

Body Magic-wise the next couple of days are going to be tough because I’m doing clerical stuff at work. Therefore I am sitting on my backside all night and the only steps I’m doing are when I go backwards and forwards to the toilet. This is quite often as I’ve been drinking so much water, but still not enough to put a dent in my Fitbit goals. I’m really not happy about the situation but it should only be Tuesday and Wednesday nights, and it should be over in three weeks. I hope so anyway. Because there’s nothing like a sense of utter dread to put you off wanting to go to work!

Today I have just wanted to sleep and sleep and haven’t got any of the jobs done that I wanted to do. This is what doing nothing at work does to me, it just saps all of my energy! Although I did remember to get some engine oil which apparently is quite important. Especially as I have an oil leak.

I’ve got to admit since me and my sister decided on obtaining vegan goodies next month, all I have been able to think about is food. This was not helped by a colleague having a long conversation with me about the ribs he’s going to eat when he goes to New York. Although I’m a vegetarian I was previously a meat eater for 34 years so of course I can still remember the taste and I do miss it. So tonight I spent 6 syns on Quorn Crispy Fillets which are damn good and have shut my cravings up for the time being.Anyway, more helpfully a different colleague is thinking of joining Slimming World so she very apologetically asked if she could ask me a few questions. Well that was it- my face lit up and I told her I was more than happy to talk at length about one of my very favourite subjects! Just lately she has been following that very low calorie, low carb diabetic diet with her husband. Which is apparently fantastic if you are a diabetic, which he is (he is doing it in the hopes of coming off insulin) and she is not. For lunch yesterday she had an egg wrapped in ham. And that’s it! What is it with people and single eggs? If I’m having eggs then I firmly believe they should come in threes! After talking to her on and off all night I reckon I’ve got her convinced, plus her daughter is encouraging the same thing, and I’m going to show her some pictures of what I eat too. She has been suffering from constant headaches and her losses haven’t been great despite having an 800 kcal a day diet. What a way to live!

And that’s all we have time for today because I have wasted the day doing practically nothing, and I need to get in 5,000 steps before I go and vegetate at work later on. Sigh.

Thanks for reading anyway!

Hayley X

Leave a Reply

