What a week!

This must have been one of the longest weeks of my life. Working that one day overtime (I am such a wimp) really did me in and it was only grudgingly I did my second kettlebell workout of the week yesterday. But I felt fantastic after finishing it because it’s the first time I’ve managed to do the whole thing using the 8 kg weight. After that I ended up doing lots of walking because for one I needed a teeny bit more exercise to qualify for my first week of Gold Body Magic before weigh-in tomorrow, and I thought I may as well get that out of the way early, and also I saw that my friend was beating me in the Fitbit leader-board . Well, I just couldn’t let that slide! 15,000 steps later and I have reclaimed my rightful place!

Today I thought I would share with you an idea of what I eat, and I’m just showing a few dinners and lunches here because I’m rarely awake enough to photograph breakfast. A lot of my food is very same-y, but that’s what I like so I tend to repeat a lot of dishes. My go-to quick dish is stir fry because if I really am in a rush and I forgo the rice, I can have a dinner ready in literally 10 minutes. So as long as I have some Quorn Mince (it cooks the quickest), frozen garlic and ginger, soy sauce and a stir fry veg packet, then there is no excuse for not having a healthy meal. As such I always have these things available. The same goes for Quorn peppered steak, which cooks in 8 minutes and has a really long shelf life.

I used to only take a couple of apples to work with me along with an Alpro Big Pot Coconut or Almond yoghurt which is only 2 syns, but 2 syns that could be used elsewhere. So for the last week or so I have been making the effort to prepare proper lunches which has not only been saving me money and syns but has also meant I’m not as hungry when I get in from work. That is the worst time for me. Before I re-joined Slimming World I had got into the habit of going to the shops straight from work and buying lots of fancy bread and cheese, then for afters I would eat a whole tiramisu intended for 6 people. If I get too hungry at work (like that awful time I forgot my work apples) I do struggle when I get but in those instances I tend to have a Hifi Light or something similarly low syn just to line my tummy before bed. Or in extreme circumstances I will scoff my healthy extras! Once I wake up I feel fine again. It’s just that getting in from work and wanting to pig out mentality, rather than genuine hunger I think. Although it seems so obvious now, identifying this problem time and putting something in place to protect myself has been a real turning point for me and it’s really helped me stay in control.

As you can see my portions are very decent, to say the least, and I reckon I do a pretty good job on the Speed Food front too. The most important thing is that I truly love to eat all of this stuff and, what the hell I may as well tell you, I often lick the plate clean! Disgusting but true!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This will be the last time I post before weigh-in tomorrow. Last week my group and consultant (jokingly) heckled me into going for a 5 lb loss to get my 3.5 st award, which would be lovely, but I really don’t think I’ve done it. You never know until the day though so we will see! Wish me luck!

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

