Slimming World Forever 

Something is different about me and Slimming World this time around- I feel very different about my plans when I get to target. From what I can gather, once you hit your target weight for the first week you don’t change anything at all, you just carry on Food Optimising as normal. Then if you keep losing weight you increase your healthy extras until you find that perfect balance. When I’ve joined Slimming World previously I’ve secretly harboured a plan to have one takeaway a week and see if I can get away with it! But buried even deeper underneath that secret was the knowledge that after getting the taste for all that crappy food it would be incredibly hard to get back on plan afterwards. I would in fact be sabotaging myself and it would only be a matter of time before I fell off the wagon. Nearer the time I’m going to speak to my consultant about it, because my new plan doesn’t follow the rules either. But what I hope I can do now when I reach target is… eat an avocado a week! Although the science has been around since the 60’s (repressed by evil junk food companies) the recent revelations about fat not being as bad for you as previously thought are very welcome- I’d much rather have the odd avocado rather than a bar of chocolate or a packet of crisps. I love all of those things but after I’ve eaten an avocado I don’t get nearly uncontrollable cravings for more avocado. If I eat chocolate then I just want more as soon as I’ve finished. Sugar really is the devil! And I think curbing my sugar intake has helped no end with staying in control. I do wish that avocados were a free food… but yeah, I’d probably never lose any damn weight!

The other thing I’ve been thinking about is that when I reach target (I keep forgetting I still have at least 4.5 st to go!) I am going to keep going to group, well, forever! The thought of this used to make me feel resentful, like it’s unfair that I should have to do it. But now I see it a little differently. I don’t have to go to work. I think I am sneaky enough to quite easily claim benefits, apply for jobs and still not manage to get one. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a huge amount of disposable income but I’m able to do a lot of things that make me happy and I can make sure my family are in a good position. I choose to stay in my job because it allows me to do these things. Going to group after hitting target is similar as in yes, I can choose not to go. But if I do keep going it will enable me to stay slim for the first time in my entire life. No more yo-yoing! I think that’s a fair tradeoff for giving up two hours of my week for the rest of my (probably prolonged, thanks to Slimming World) life.

Yesterday I just didn’t do a very good job of taking care of myself. I’ve been really tired this week which is really inconvenient what with doing overtime and all that. I couldn’t have picked a worse week to do it. I had dinner really early yesterday because I was so tired and hungry, but forgot to have my planned dessert before I left for work. And I forgot my work apples that keep me going until lunch. So in the end by the time I had my work lunch I hadn’t eaten for 12 hours and I had a splitting headache to show for it. Today I need to do better, but when I got in from work I will still hungry but also exhausted so I scoffed down both of my healthy extras before bed. You know you’re hungry when you eat plain malt wheats with unsweetened almond milk and it tastes like the most delicious food you’ve ever had!

In other news I had a little back ache today and as I gave it a rub my heart skipped a beat. I came across something weird and almost lumpy-feeling. In that split second all kinds of things whirl through your mind but it turns out having ribs is actually nothing to worry about! I’m looking forward to the discovery of more bones that I forgot I had!

Today is also kettlebell day, and I really need to get off my arse and do it because I want to build up some strength- and I need to stay focused to get that Gold Body Magic award. So at the moment I’m sipping a coffee (black with sweetener) to get me going a bit. But as usual the day is going ahead without me and I could do with more time. Oh well!

Finally the only other exciting thing that happened is the arrival of my new pin to mark me getting my 3st award. I’m going to have quite a collection by the time I reach target! Why is he wearing a hat? Just because!

120117_1205

Until next time,

Hayley X

Leave a Reply

