Illogical

I was talking to a colleague the other day who is thinking of joining Slimming World, but he doesn’t want to go to group. He’s a bit wary of the clapping and shiny stickers, but then weren’t most of us in the beginning? It was so cringey at first when people clapped for at your losses, but now I think it would be weird not to. I don’t know why stuff like that helps keep me on track, but it does. Logic has no place at Slimming World! If you start to reason things out it all goes wrong. Surely it’s impossible to eat this much and still lose weight? Apparently not! When I started concerning myself with portion sizes I became completely demotivated. Surely I don’t need to pay a fiver a week for someone to tell me how big I am? Well it seems that actually, I do, because the only time I’ve been truly successful at losing weight (and I’m not counting the time I made myself ill taking dodgy diet pills) was when I’ve been fully committed to staying at group every week, no matter what. I don’t know why that is, I don’t care why that is. I’ve found the formula that’s working for me and I’m sticking to it.

This week I feel like I’ve been chasing my tail the whole time. There just aren’t enough hours in the day! I wouldn’t call it a resolution as I’ve been working towards this for some time, but I’m gradually become more organised. It is literally taking years, but I’m getting there slowly. I’m naturally a person who accumulates mountains of clutter and who leaves everything till the last minute, so I’ve made a list of everything that needs doing and have assigned it a day, such as workouts, vacuuming, cleaning poops from my bird’s cage… you get the idea! While it’s helping to space out all of the little annoying tasks part of me just wants to hide in bed. But if I don’t get up and get moving it’ll have a knock-on effect on everything, including my weight loss. So I have to stay on top of it! Unfortunately I only have Sunday off then I’m back in work for six shifts. I just have to get on with it, it’ll pay off in the long run.

Today I actually made the effort to prepare proper lunches for work. Normally I just take a couple of apples and an Alpro coconut Big Pot (2 syns) but I want to save those two precious syns for other stuff. I’m trying to use up some cupboard bits so I used Moroccan giant Cous Cous from Asda that’s been hiding in there for serveral months, added some Quorn mince with garlic, tomatoes and some veg roasted in Moroccan spices. The whole lot is free and I think it’ll be a lot more filling (and healthy) than my usual lunches.

The thing I love about a totally free meal is that you can pick at the various bits and bobs while you’re cooking and not have to worry about it!

My task for tomorrow is to give yoga a try, especially since I bought a yoga mat about two months ago and still haven’t got around it it.

But now I’m off for nice cup of black coffee before work so that I can enjoy the last moment of warmth before I go off to my job in a completely unheated warehouse.

Thanks for reading!

Hayley x

2 thoughts on “Illogical

Leave a Reply

