Golden Hour

I finished my last shift at work on Saturday morning and since then I’ve managed to get a lot done. I decided to forgo sleep that day and went shopping first thing as it’s something I hate doing, and it’s nice to do it while the shops are relatively empty. Usually there are workers shopping for the online orders and they can be so rude! But I remind myself they’re probably under pressure to hit a certain rate of picking so I try not to hold it against them. I have the same pressures at work but with the HUGE bonus of not having to deal with any members of the public. After I stocked up on fruits and vegetables so I don’t have to go shopping over my long weekend, I went home and walked around until I reached my 10,000 step goal. I’d already clocked up quite a few from work so this didn’t take too long.

Then at 10am my ex came over to pick me up as I needed to pick up a soup maker for my mum which happened to only be in stock near where he lives, so I took the opportunity to visit his new flat. I know it can be weird to some that we’re still friends, but it feels pretty normal to us. He’s used to dealing with ex’s as he has to keep in touch with the mothers of his children, and I suppose it must be even easier with me because there isn’t the complication of kids. I’ve met his ex wife and she’s lovely, so I’m glad he still gets along with her too. After that we decided to take a stroll around town and before I knew it I’d clocked up nearly 17,000 steps!

After shopping and a cup of tea I went home and had half a half hour nap before I had to get up to get my parrotlet her dinner, then I thought I might as well make it 20,000 steps before the day was up. Well it would be a shame not to! I have a goal set on my Fitbit and although I don’t calorie count at all, it tells me what calorie total I should aim for to have a steady weight loss. I only look at how many calories I burn for one reason- as I lose weight I have to do more exercise in order to burn over 4000 calories a day. Which seems cruel and unfair! But hey, that’s life. It will just encourage me to be more active as the pounds come off. The 4000 calorie thing is a arbitrary number. When I first got my Fitbit I noticed it’d only go over the 4000 if I did about 15,000 steps. Now it does take about 20,000 ish, but also I really notice if I’m not being active as I’ll only burn about 2500. I’m not sure about the accuracy of these things, but I’m obviously going in the right direction and that’s all I care about.

So by the time New Year’s Eve night rolled around, I was exhausted! I made myself a late dinner, and for that I’m pretty proud of myself as I could just have easily gone to bed without any I was that tired. But then I would have woken up starving in the morning and I happen to know my mum has crumpets hiding in her fridge…

So from the time I went to work on on Friday to this morning I’ve had about 8 hours sleep, but I still dragged myself out of bed to go out for that walk with my brother. We talked a little about his resolutions and he wants to lose weight and be healthier this year. He has a motorbike and bought the best and safest leathers he could afford, so he doesn’t want to get to the point when they don’t fit any more. Especially as he’s motorbiking around Scotland again in the summer. I only hit 9,000 steps on the walk but you can rest assured I’ll have that 10,000 by the end of the day, especially as I’m on track to get my Silver Body Magic award in a couple of weeks!

010117_1184

When we got to our local country park it was right in the middle of golden hour, which I timed perfectly via an app on my phone. It also told me that it’d be a crap day for taking photos but I managed to get a quick shot of a pinkish sky before the sun disappeared for good. After that, the app was spot on.

010117_1183

The rest of the morning was grey and drizzly enough to force me to put my camera away. However we did see some pigs named Humbug and Peach, and a few curious sheep which I just snapped with my phone.

010117_1188

010117_1185

Hopefully tonight I’ll catch up on some sleep in a major way because I have so much to do tomorrow. I did intend to take the Christmas decorations down today but I didn’t have time in the end, so that’s number one on the list. At least it will keep me busy as I can’t wait until weigh in on Tuesday. I’m really hoping for a decent loss!

Thanks for reading,

Hayley X

Leave a Reply

