Reflections

As 2016 draws to a close I know I’m not alone in getting a little reflective over the last 12 months. So much has happened in my little world, and I’ve changed so much over the last year. It’s one of those pivotal times I’m sure I’ll look back on in years to come, and for once I’m certain I’ll be thanking myself.

From 2010 to 2015 I lived my life in a state of low level yet constant anxiety. I was in a relationship with a man I loved (and probably still do in a way) but he either couldn’t or wouldn’t make me happy. I would have liked to make him happy, but to this day I’m not even sure he’s capable of it. It took me just over five years to realise all that. In March this year I took the plunge and ended things, because it got to the point where I knew if things continued the way they were I was guaranteed to be miserable. But if I changed things then yes, they might get worse, but there was also the possibility that things could get better. I’d rather a small chance than no chance at all.

Things were a bit rough for a couple of months with me having some weight loss success (mainly due to stress) and during this time I quit and rejoined Slimming World several times. If I’m honest with myself there was a certain amount of ‘I’ll show him what he’s missing’ coupled with ‘I’m free, I can go out clubbing with 20-year-olds!’ which I did do, and was it was loads of fun, but it’s not really me. Plus I can’t keep up with them! And of course copious amounts of alcohol don’t really go hand in hand with Food Optimising. I’ve been keeping proper records of my weight since August 2015, and you can see for yourself how much yo-yoing I’ve done in that time.

img_1558

Since the 28th of December 2015 I have lost a total of 3 st and 3 lbs, with most of that being lost in the last couple of months. Now I’m this focused I can’t wait to see what I can do in the first half of 2017. Tomorrow me and my brother are getting up stupidly early to go out for a walk at the local county park. We’re starting the year as we mean to go on. I have 5 st 2 lbs left till I reach target, and since recent Slimming World research has apparently shown that people who aim for their dream weight tend to lose more weight than those with ‘realistic’ goals, I’m going to aim to lose that by tomorrow lunch time! Seriously though, this is going to be the year I finally reach that elusive target weight. I can feel it in my bones!

Weight loss goals aside, this was also the year I became closer than ever to my brother and sister. They are both absolutely amazing and I have no idea what I’d do without them, which is weird because as kids I think we’d quite happily have killed each other if we thought we could get away with it. We’ve had some nice little outings, which made me realise that I have everything I want out of life really. The only thing I’d change if I could would be to not have the inconvenience of work (and a mountain of cash) so I could just do more of the things I like. I think that’s a pretty good place to be in life.

150516_sussex_700_jpg

My Little Bro and Sis

The award for absolute best thing to happen to me this year though has to go to my sweet little parrot, my lovely feathered companion, who has bought me so much joy since I bought her home in April. She’s actually remarkably like her owner. She very much guards her personal space and has to invite you in if you want physical contact, and it’s been a huge test of my patience to start to earn her trust. But wow has it been worth it! I never would have said I was a pet person until now. It just goes to show how a 22g ball of feathers can change your life when you least expect it!

270816_927

Pea the Green-Rumped Parrotlet

Of course there’s no reason why tomorrow should be any better for setting goals and making plans than any other day of the year, but I just can’t resist a shiny, new, fresh start. I started off 2016 at my lowest point ever and ended it at my highest. I’m excited to see what the next year brings, including I hope lots of new Slimming World blogs for me to read.

Happy New Year everyone, and I’ll see you on the other side!

Hayley X

Leave a Reply

