Chuffed to Bits!

At the end of October I had a weight in mind that I wanted to be before the end of the year, but I honestly thought it was going to be a bit of a stretch. So I prepared myself for the fact that it might not happen so I wouldn’t be too disappointed if I didn’t quite make it. As it happened I reached that weight the week before last, so I made another goal- this time to get my 2.5 stone award by the end of the year. I thought it was going to be tough, but today I lost 4lbs and I only went and damn well got it! It is the best Christmas present for myself that I could have hoped for!

Tonight we had our Slimming World group Christmas party and I must say without the social lubricant that is wine I felt very, very uncomfortable. I’m one of the few people who goes to group without a friend so at first I made the effort to make conversation which I find so hard (I’m not one for small talk) then when the people around me had settled into other conversations and I wasn’t being rude, I got my phone out and started texting my sister telling her how excruciatingly out of place I felt! Thank goodness for mobile phones. Hopefully by next Christmas (or the next taster night we happen to have) I’ll know people a little better and won’t feel so self-conscious. That’s one goal. Another is of course to get my 3 stone award which I want by the end of January. So that means no messing things up over the next week! I have too much that I want to achieve!

I was very busy today taking my mum to a hospital appointment in the morning (after a night shift I might add) then when I got home I had lots of little bits and bobs to get done. So when it came to making food for taster evening I just popped some Tesco sweet potato falafels in the oven. They’re only half a syn each and they went down really well. I didn’t take any back home with me anyway, so that’s got to be a good sign. I didn’t win anything in the many raffles we had at group tonight but I’m OK with that. I came away with my shiny sticker so I’m as happy as can be.

The last week has been a little tough because Chester, our family cat who has been with us since 2003, had to go to the vets. Eventually (after the first vet tried to rip us off) we found out that he is in the early stages of kidney failure. He can’t be cured, but his life can be prolonged with diet so we’ve got to watch what we feed him. Welcome to the diet club little guy! Apart from having wibbly legs (his muscles are weak because he hasn’t been processing protein properly) he seems just as happy as he ever did. So as long as he’s still having a good life we’ll carry on as we are. I mean look at that face. I love that little dude.

230516_laindon_776_jpg

So that’s it for now since not much else has been going on. The next time I blog it’ll be Christmas Day!

Hayley X

Leave a Reply

