Christmas Jumpers

161216_1152

This week I finalised my Christmas Day menu and added everything I need to my Tesco shopping that will be delivered on the 23rd. At first I was planning to stay within 15 syns but I think that would leave me feeling just a little bit deprived. I wanted to fit in a mini mince pie (4 syns), a miniature bottle of wine (7 syns) and also have enough for a few extras like Linda McCartney vegetarian sausages and Quorn breakfast patties in the morning (half a syn each for both). I also need a few syns for the Linda McCartney roast to go with my dinner (I’ll be having 6 syns-worth). I’ve managed to save syns on a few bits like a syn free gravy recipe I found on Slimming Eats and a stuffing recipe too, which if I’m going to make vegetarian would have a couple of syns but I’ll be using rosemary and red onion veggie sausages instead of the usual kind, as they’re free. All in all I’ll be having a maximum of 24 syns on Christmas Day and although my consultant doesn’t recommend it, I’ll be saving a few syns in the days leading up to Christmas in order to protect my weight loss. I think the worry is that I’ll deprive myself in the week then snap and go crazy Christmas Day, but I know I’m not going to do that as I’ll only be holding back 2 or 3 syns each day. I don’t have the full 15 every day anyway so I think I’ll be fine. I will be fine, I’ve planned it that way!

Yesterday was Christmas jumper day at work, so I got out my trusty penguin jumper and put on my Christmas tree earrings. But when I got to work it didn’t seem that anyone else had bothered. Sadly, that was exactly the case. A couple of hours into my shift a manager came up to me to say that he’d messed up and forgotten about it, and his manager expected him to take pictures to upload to our internal social media Twitter-type ripoff. I normally join in with days like this but refuse to have my picture taken. In this instance I decided to be nice to the poor manager who was trying to cover his backside and had found the one and only person in a workforce of about 200 who had worn a festive jumper. A couple of months ago I think I still would have refused. As it happens he showed me the picture and I didn’t look that bad- it’s really starting to show that I’m losing weight now. A couple of months ago I also would have been mortified to be the odd one out as I wouldn’t want to draw attention to myself. Last night though I simply didn’t care!

Last week at group my consultant put a breakdown of the total syns in boxes of Quality Street, Roses, Celebrations and Heroes. There are only about 2.5 syns in each chocolate but last night at work when everyone was stuffing their faces I was just thinking of those syn totals. It is so easy to think that a couple won’t hurt, and again so easy to lose track and keep going back for more without thinking about it. I managed to resist by thinking about all the syns in a tin- the lowest being 164 and the highest being in the 200’s, and how quickly 2.5 syns could turn into 50. That’s the kind of mindset I want to keep over the holidays.

Apart from having to deal with work, which is a huge inconvenience as there are so many other fun things I could be doing at home, I’ve mostly just been hanging out with my little bird. Birds are very suspicious of anything new so it took me five whole days to convince her to sit on a reindeer I bought from Tiger the other day. By the way if you’ve never been to a Tiger store I highly recommend it. There are so many things you won’t know you needed until you’ve been! It was worth it though as she looks so cute! By the way the key to getting a bird to do anything is millet. At least she takes after me. I’m mostly motivated by food too!

161216_1153

Leave a Reply

