Being Stubborn

121216_1148

Today was weigh day and I’m absolutely delighted to say that I lost 3 lbs and got my Bronze Body Magic award!

I was a little worried because this week I have been so inactive. I’ve done the least amount of steps since rejoining my Slimming World group, but to be fair it’s not entirely my fault. During the summer I noticed that my knees were starting to hurt, which I still put down to them having to deal with carrying around so much excess weight. Even so, although I’ve lost just over 2 stone, they are hurting more than ever and the right one is crunching. Which can’t be good. But I’m stubborn and have put off going to the doctors.

Unfortunately in the new year I’m going to have to bite the bullet and find out what’s going on, because I was unable to do my step aerobics and kettlebell workouts this week. I’m as surprised as anyone to say that I’m disappointed by this! Yesterday I did a bit of research and devised a 20 minute kettlebell workout that didn’t require any bending of the knees. It didn’t feel as good as my usual workouts, but it’s better than sitting on my butt doing nothing. After easing off of the steps for a while my knee is feeling a lot better so from tomorrow I’m going to aim for 10,000 a day again. Especially next week. I’m even going to try for 10,000 on Christmas Day!

I say that I’ve been inactive, but I still did enough to complete week 4 of my Bronze Body Magic. On Sunday I went to London to visit my sister and resisted driving to the train station. It’s become something of a tradition where I drop off a load of presents to her then we go out for a wander. That way when she visits for her birthday next week she won’t have to carry too much stuff back with her and she’ll have stuff to open when she wakes up. Thankfully I planned ahead and had bought a little lunch with me, including a Batchelor’s Vegetable Couscous Deli Box, which was free. It was my first time trying it and I’ll be honest, it was utterly tasteless. But it was hot and filled me up a little, plus I’d bought fruit, some Linda McCartney vegetarian sausages (0.5 syns each) and two HiFi Light bars as my B choice.

After lunch and saying hello to her birds we went out for a coffee. It was a real struggle! My sister lives in Bethnal Green and rather than getting the tube or a bus I suggested that we walk. We decided to go to Liverpool Street which involves walking past Brick Lane. This was especially hard because for me Brick Lane is synonymous with one beautiful thing- the delicious bagel! After we had passed Brick Lane, all I could see were signs for Indian Street food, Beijing Street food, woodfired pizzas, all kinds of food… and the smells were amazing. I resisted though, and checked the Slimming World app before ordering a medium latté for 5.5 syns. I took one look at the Cherry Bakewells and turned my head away- they were huge and deep-filled and I dread to think how many syns it would be. Way into the 20’s I’d guess!

My sister has been a great help during my Slimming World journey. When we were growing up we were both absolutely massive, there’s no other word for it, but although I’ve lost drastic amounts of weight (several times over) unlike me she has managed to keep the weight off and this year especially she has been chipping away at those last few pounds so she can really get to the weight she’s happy with. It’s been hard for her too because when she started her relationship with her boyfriend there was the usual going out for drinks and meals or whatever, which she still does and enjoys, but when she can be on plan she does fantastically and she looks slimmer and fitter now than I’ve ever seen her. And happier too! So going out with her in tow makes it so much easier for me to be good, and she’s the inspiration I need to keep going and find a balance when I’m at target.

In fact I’m feeling so positive this week, a good loss was the boost I really needed. This week I need 1.5 lbs to get my 2.5 st award, and I’m going to do everything I can to make that happen.

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

