I’m a vegetarian now, because birds

My sister got her parrot (a pacific parrotlet) about a year-and-a-half before I got mine (a green-rumped parrotlet). She bet me that I’d decide to go vegetarian after getting a bird but quite frankly I thought that was nonsense. I loved to eat meat and I was a total carnivore. But sure enough the more I learned about birds the more it didn’t sit right with me to be eating them. When you follow enough people on tumblr who keep chickens as beloved pets you start wondering what it would feel like if people were eating parrots. There’s also a lady I follow on Instagram who has a beautiful lovebird called Rhea who has Psittacine Beak and Feather Disease, which means all her feathers fall out. One article I read described her as ‘oven ready’ and that’s actually what she looks like! Then I imagined what my little Pea would look like without her feathers. So a couple of weeks ago I made the decision to stop eating birds.

Of course with Slimming World you can eat any lean red meat you want but I didn’t want to increase my red meat intake so I thought what the hell, I may as well go full vegetarian. The upside of this is that I stocked the freezer full of Quorn and Linda McCartney products and my weekly shop was a lot cheaper than usual. I thought it would be more expensive but that didn’t turn out to be the case. And then there’s the benefits of not having to deal with gristle, sinew, blood, tendons, bones… And there’s no defrosting either. All of my meat replacements go straight into the oven from the freezer and cook in less than half an hour. This appeals to my lazy nature!

And then there’s also the fact that Pea seems so keen to help me out- here she is reminding me to fill out my food diary-

img_0171

Although having said that she’s only really interested in treats like millet and sunflower seeds…

Leave a Reply

